Weekend

How was your weekend? Mine was good–I mostly recovered from the cold I had. A slight cough lingers. My mom came to help my grandma move so she stayed with us for a few days. That was fun. Then my husband’s parents came to go to General Conference. So we spent a couple of days with them and all of his siblings.

We went out to dinner at Cracker Barrel with Scott’s family on Friday night. Good idea, bad execution. We were a group of 13 and I think that the hostess thought that 13 was an unlucky number so she never seated us. Even after we asked to be split into two groups since it was obvious that we weren’t going to be seated with 13 of us. Finally after 1 1/2 hours of waiting and a talk with the manager, we were able to split into two groups and be seated. He gave us free drinks. That was nice of him.

Speaking of going out to dinner, my husband graduates from college at the end of the month. We were going to go out to dinner to celebrate with him. We live in an area with a university and a community college which is about to become a university. There are around 50,000 students in this valley. Both of these colleges have graduation the same day. Meaning that if we want to go out to dinner, there is no chance that we would be able to get in somewhere with around 20 people who will be joining us in our celebration. I don’t even think we could get in with just the two of us at most places!

So we came up with a brilliant idea. Why not go to someone’s house where we can talk to everyone who came with us and also have some good food? So we are kind of catering the event. We are ordering food that consists of chicken parmigiana, lasagna, salad, french bread, and mint brownies and ice cream for dessert. That way, no one has to prepare the meal and it is a little nicer than ordering pizza.

I’m actually really excited about it and I think Scott is, too.

Leave a comment